well aware logo

Tradition of Compassion Award Winners Announced

Published on 2/9/2009
Share This:

       Individuals and organizations that have distinguished themselves through philanthropy and service in the region will be honored at the third annual Tradition of Compassion Philanthropy Awards, Thursday, March 5, at the Columbia Gorge Discovery Center.
       The program is hosted by the Mid-Columbia Health Foundation and sponsored by Integrity Structures, LLC.
      "Our quality of life in this region is dependent on the countless acts of kindness of committed citizens and businesses in our community, says Gabe Duus, CEO of the Integrity Structures development company. These awards recognize those who touch the lives of others in our community. The individuals and organizations honored put their values in action every day.  And because of their actions, the lives of many others are being improved."
      Nominations for Tradition of Compassion Awards were open to all community members who live or work in the Columbia River Gorge.  Winners were selected by a panel of community members.
      The 2009 awards were given in several categories and will be presented at the March 5 ceremony, which is open to the public.   Proceeds from the event will be split among the winners' charities of choice.
      During this year's event, The Columbia Gorge Center also will be honored with a grant from the MCHF in recognition of the work that organization does.

The 2009 Tradition of Compassion honorees are:
• Outstanding Corporate Philanthropist under 50 Employees: The Dalles New Car Dealer's Association
• Outstanding Corporate Philanthropist Over 50 Employees:  Crestline Construction
• Outstanding Community Service Organization:  The Dalles Lions Club
• Outstanding Philanthropist:  Philip Klindt
• Outstanding Volunteer:  Elt Fadness
• Outstanding  Youth Volunteer:  Hannah Martinson, Karla Holland

      Other nominees this year included: Dewanda Clark, Nancy Gibson, Dani and Len Rankin, Karl Vercouteren, Jerry Tanquist, Neil Porter, Glenda Lovejoy, Charlotte Link, Rymmel Lovell, Bob McNary, Dr. David Mack, Doug Sawyer, Dinah Baggenstros, Gary and Christine Rood, Barbara Bailey, Gene and Dixie Parker, Google, The Free Toy Store, Mid-Columbia Senior Center, OSU Master Gardeners, Columbia Gorge CASA, Mid-Columbia Community Action Council, Home at Last, Grocery Outlet and Griffith Motors.
      To purchase tickets for the ceremony or for more information on the awards contact the Mid-Columbia Health Foundation at 296-7275.

Share This:

Post a Comment:

Screen Name: (optional)


Post a Thoughtful, Intelligent Comment

All comments are subject to moderation before being posted live by our administrators. Users may have their posts deleted, or their IP addresses banned for sending abusive, incendiary or otherwise deleterious content. Please refrain from making any sort of link or reference to other websites, advertising, or promoting; any of which may be grounds for rejection by the administrator.