Certified Nurses Day March 19th

We are celebrating Certified Nurses Day, March 19th by honoring our board certified nurses. The following nurses are being recognized for their professionalism, leadership, and commitment to excellence in patient care:

Maricela Bandel-Ramirez
Jennifer Bruhn
Cori Christensen
Elizabeth Copeland
Anna Dillon
Kathy Huva
Donna Maddy
Kenneth Parton
Susan Samuels
Shelby Von Borstel
Lori Warneking
Amanda Everson
Amanda Gross
Jacinda Nunn
Ann Becker
Barb Berry
Cori Bolger
Diana Daschel
Janelle Adams
Sandra Felderman
Doris Nyholm
Katherine Stevens
Matah Brown
Jane Cook
Jill Kienlen
Eileen Leslie
Jayme Mason
Carol Rager
Jessie Ziegler
Jennifer Mcleod
Kenneth Bucher
Lindsay Denney
Lynne Allen
Kimberly Bryan
Deborah Conklin
Susan Fissell
Melodi Johnson
Claire Miller
Autumn Moretty-Randall
Margaret Archbald
Philip Evans
Jeri Foster-Horrocks
Marissa Isaak
Laura Korb
Kelley Morris
Dawn Opbroek
Samuel Raulston
Dave Stone
Gina Visalli
Amanda Williams
Jennifer Hecker
Kathy Lemmon
Louie Teyner
Felicia Adams
Rachel Crowder
Jennifer Hochmayr
Connie Jubitz
Christine Person
Aliesha Pfeifer
Justina Sharp
Joyce Stone
Kathy Kahler
Marcia Medler
Wendy Veach
Julie Byers

Board Certification of nurses plays an increasingly important role in the assurance of high standards of care for patients and their loved ones. Nursing, like health care in general has become increasingly complex. While a registered nurse (RN) license provides entry to general nursing practice, the knowledge-intensive requirements of modern nursing require extensive education, as well as a strong personal commitment to excellence by the nurse.

MCMC encourages national board certification for all its nurses. Patients are encouraged to inquire whether there are certified nurses on staff when they visit a hospital or their primary care provider. There are many nursing certification specialties such as medical-surgical, pediatric, pain management, cardiac vascular, oncology, hospice, case management, emergency nursing, critical care and many others. Many nursing certification bodies exist to serve the full range of specialized nursing care offered in the contemporary health care system; national nurse-certifying bodies should be accredited by either the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC) or the National Organization for Competence Assurance (NOCA), or both.

Please join Mid-Columbia Medical Center and the nation’s national nursing certification organizations in honoring those hardworking, dedicated nurses for their professionalism, and a job well done!